MaxDiff

Hinweis: Dieser Fragetyp ist nur für Professional Analytics Benutzer verfügbar.

Bei der MaxDiff-Analyse (maximum difference) wird den Befragten eine Liste von Items vorgelegt, und sie werden gebeten, die Optionen auszuwählen, die für sie am wichtigsten und am wenigsten wichtig sind. Jedes Element wird bewertet anhand der von den Befragten angegebenen Präferenzen. MaxDiff wird manchmal auch als Best-Worst-Skalierung oder Maximal-Differenz-Skalierung bezeichnet und ermöglicht es Ihnen, Einblicke in die von der Zielgruppe am meisten geschätzten Merkmale oder Eigenschaften zu erhalten.

Mit einer MaxDiff-Frage kann man eine relativ grosse Anzahl von Items in eine Rangreihenfolge bringen. Die Frage besteht dabei aus mehreren automatisch erstellten Unterfragen, mit denen systematisch ausgewählte Items im Vergleich zueinander bewertet werden können.

Wenn Sie aus weniger als 8 Items eine Rangreihe bilden möchten, empfehlen wir die Verwendung des Rangreihe Fragetyps. Für grössere Itemsets (bis zu 50 Elemente) wird eine MaxDiff-Frage empfohlen.

Wie funktioniert MaxDiff?

Ein gutes Beispiel für die Verwendung einer MaxDiff-Frage ist, wenn Sie wissen möchten, welche Eigenschaften Ihre Zielgruppe beim Kauf eines neuen Produkts oder einer Dienstleistung berücksichtigt. Im nachfolgenden Beispiel geht es um den Kauf eines neuen Mobiltelefons.

Zunächst müssen Sie bestimmen, welche Elemente oder Eigenschaften des Telefons in eine Rangreihe gebracht werden sollen.

Aus dieser Attribute-Liste werden mehrere Unterfragen erstellt, bei denen dem Befragten ausgewählte Attribute vorgelegt werden, die nach ihrer Wichtigkeit eingestuft werden sollen. In diesem Beispiel gibt es 13 Items, was zu 13 Unterfragen führt.

Alle Befragten sehen die gleichen Unterfragen, aber die Reihenfolge ist für jeden Befragten zufällig. Der Befragte wählt aus, welches Attribut am wichtigsten und welches am wenigsten wichtig ist und geht dann zur nächsten Unterfrage über.

Nachdem alle Unterfragen beantwortet wurden, wird die Punktzahl für alle Attribute automatisch berechnet.

Details zum Generieren der Unterfragen

Das jeweilige Design der MaxDiff-Frage muss einer Handvoll Anforderungen genügen. Es muss unabhängig von der Anzahl der tatsächlichen Teilnehmer sein, weil diese oftmals im Vorfeld der Umfrage gar nicht bekannt ist. Bei der Auswertung müssen sich beliebige Teilstichproben für den Vergleich untereinander bilden lassen, unabhängig vom verwendeten Design. Und ganz generell sollte das Design mit wenig Zeitaufwand und wenigen verpflichtenden Einstellungen erstellt werden können. Deshalb wird bei einer MaxDiff-Frage in Survalyzer jedem Teilnehmer das genau gleiche Set an Unterfragen (die gleiche Version) gezeigt. Eine Verzerrung der Daten, weil Abbrecher oder nachträglich eingeladene Teilnehmer bestimmte Versionen überdurchschnittlich häufig verwendet haben, ist somit ausgeschlossen.

Das gleiche Set an Unterfragen für alle Befragten kann nur eingesetzt werden, wenn alle Items über alle Unterfragen hinweg gleich häufig angezeigt werden. Ausserdem muss ausgeschlossen werden, dass ein beliebiges Item-Paar in den Unterfragen doppelt erscheint (Orthogonalitätsbedingung). Daraus ergibt sich die Restriktion, dass das generierte MaxDiff-Design exakt so viele Unterfragen hat, wie es Items gibt. Je nach Anzahl Items pro Unterfrage erscheint jedes Item 3-mal, 4-mal oder 5-mal. Dies ermöglicht auch, dass jedes Item genau einmal an erster, zweiter, dritter und gegebenenfalls vierter oder fünfter Stelle in den Unterfragen erscheint. Entsprechende Designs, die die genannten Bedingungen erfüllen, benötigen für 3, 4 oder 5 Items pro Unterfrage eine Mindestzahl an Items. Somit ist die MaxDiff-Frage in Survalyzer erst ab 8 Items insgesamt (3 Items pro Unterfrage) möglich. Für 4 Items pro Unterfrage werden mindestens 14 Items und für 5 Items pro Unterfrage werden mindestens 23 Items benötigt.

Die Menge an theoretisch existierenden Item-Paaren ist grösser als die Menge, die in allen Unterfragen zusammen angezeigt werden kann. Da aus a>b und b>c zwangsläufig a>c folgt, ist es auch gar nicht notwendig, alle Item-Paare in den Unterfragen abzubilden. Diese Tatsache ermöglicht es, dass der Nutzer für ein bestimmtes Item-Paar festlegen kann, dass es in keiner Unterfrage zusammen angezeigt wird. Diese Einstellung ist optional. Wird sie nicht gesetzt, wird das Design mit zufällig kombinierten Item-Paaren generiert.

Analyse der Ergebnisse

Wenn Ihre Befragten die Attribute bewertet haben, können Sie sehen, welche Attribute bei der Entscheidungsfindung Ihrer Zielgruppe als am wichtigsten und am unwichtigsten angesehen werden.

Details zur Auswertung der MaxDiff-Frage

Das Item, das der Befragte in einer Unterfrage als “am wichtigsten” bewertet, bekommt den Wert 1. Das Item, das der Befragte in einer Unterfrage als “am wenigsten wichtig” bewertet, bekommt den Wert -1. Die restlichen Items bekommen den Wert 0. Nach dem Beantworten der MaxDiff-Frage werden für jedes Item die Werte aufsummiert und durch die Anzahl des Vorkommens des Items (3, 4 oder 5) dividiert. Der berechnete Item-Score im Interview ist ein Mittelwert, der sich zwischen -1 (nicht wichtig) und 1 (wichtig) befindet. Bildet man den Mittelwert für jedes Item über alle Befragten oder über die Befragten einer Teilgruppe, erhält man den Gesamt-Score oder den Gruppen-Score der Items.

Im Rohdaten-Export wird für jedes MaxDiff-Item eine Spalte/Variable angezeigt. Die ausgewiesenen Zahlen sind die Item-Scores der einzelnen Interviews, aus denen man z.B. Gesamt-Scores (einfache Mittelwerte) berechnen kann. Im Basic Report werden die Gesamt-Scores abgebildet. Das dazugehörige Chart sortiert die Items nach dem Gesamt-Score mit dem wichtigsten Item oben. Im Segmentierten Excel Report werden neben dem Gesamt-Score auch die Gruppen-Scores der einzelnen Segmente ausgegeben.

Das verwendete MaxDiff-Design (siehe “Details zum Generieren der Unterfragen”) ermöglicht eine einfache Auswertung über Mittelwerte. Es sind keine weitergehenden Statistik-Kenntnisse und bei der Analyse der Rohdaten auch keine Spezial-Programme für z.B. eine Hierarchische Bayes Schätzung notwendig. Insofern wird auch das tatsächlich eingesetzte Design in den Rohdaten nicht wiedergegeben. Das wird nur sichtbar, wenn man ein Test-Interview ausfüllt.

Zusätzliche Einstellungen

Items pro Unterfrage

Sie können die Anzahl der Items pro Unterfrage festlegen:

  • 3 Items pro Unterfrage → mindestens 8 Items erforderlich
  • 4 Items pro Unterfrage → mindestens 14 Items erforderlich
  • 5 Items pro Unterfrage → mindestens 23 Items erforderlich

Item-Paare ausschliessen

Eine Option von MaxDiff ist, dass Sie festlegen können, dass ein bestimmtes Paar von Elementen niemals in einer der Unterfragen kombiniert wird.

Dies ist besonders wertvoll, wenn es zwei ähnliche Merkmale gibt, bei denen der Befragte sehr wahrscheinlich immer eine Option der anderen vorzieht. Wenn ein Befragter zwischen 128 GB Speicher und 256 GB Speicher wählen kann, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass er 256 GB Speicher bevorzugt.

Das bedeutet, dass die Frage nach der Präferenz zwischen diesen beiden Optionen höchstwahrscheinlich nichts zur Umfrage beiträgt. Allerdings ist die Präferenz für eine Mindestmenge an Speicher im Vergleich zu anderen Merkmalen sehr wertvoll zu untersuchen.

Updated on November 29, 2023
Was this article helpful?
Need Support?
Please login to your Survalyzer account and use the "Create Support Request" form.
Login to Survalyzer

MaxDiff

NoteThis question type is only available for Professional Analytics users

In MaxDiff (maximum difference) analysis, survey respondents are presented with a list of items and asked to select the options that are most important and least important to them. Each item is scored based on the order of preference expressed by the respondent. MaxDiff is sometimes called best-worst scaling or maximum difference scaling and allows you to gain insight into what features or attributes are most valued by the target audience.

The purpose of a MaxDiff question is to rank a rather large number of items. The question actually consists of several automatically created subquestions, where systematically selected items can be assessed in comparison to each other.

If you want to rank fewer than 8 items we recommend using the Rank Order question type. For larger datasets (up to 50 items) a MaxDiff question is recommended.

How does MaxDiff work?

A good example of how you would use a MaxDiff question is when you want to know which attributes your audience considers when buying a new product or service. In the following example, buying a new mobile phone will be the use case.

First of all you have to determine which items or attributes of a phone should be considered in the ranking.

Based on these attributes several subquestions will be created, where the respondent will be presented with the different attributes and ranks them based on importance. In this example there are 13 items, resulting in 13 subquestions.

All respondents will see the same subquestions, but the sequence is randomized for each respondent. The respondent selects which attritute is most important and which attribute is least important and then proceeds to the next subquestion.

After all subquestions have been answered the score is automatically calculated for all attributes.

Details on generating the subquestions

The respective design of the MaxDiff question must meet a handful of requirements. It must be independent of the number of actual participants, as this is often not even known in advance of the survey. During the evaluation, it must be possible to form any number of sub-samples for comparison with each other, regardless of the design used. And in general, it should be possible to create the design with little time expenditure and few mandatory settings. For this reason, a MaxDiff question in Survalyzer shows each participant the exact same set of subquestions (the same version). A distortion of the data because dropouts or subsequently invited participants used certain versions more frequently than average is therefore ruled out.

The same set of subquestions for all respondents can only be used if all items are displayed equally frequently across all subquestions. In addition, it must be ruled out that any pair of items appears twice in the subquestions (orthogonality condition). This results in the restriction that the generated MaxDiff design has exactly as many subquestions as there are items. Depending on the number of items per subquestion, each item appears 3, 4 or 5 times. This also allows each item to appear exactly once in the first, second, third and possibly fourth or fifth position in the subquestions. Corresponding designs that fulfill the above conditions require a minimum number of items for 3, 4 or 5 items per subquestion. This means that the MaxDiff question in Survalyzer is only possible from 8 items in total (3 items per subquestion). At least 14 items are required for 4 items per subquestion and at least 23 items are required for 5 items per subquestion.

The number of theoretically existing item pairs is greater than the number that can be displayed in all subquestions together. Since a>b and b>c inevitably result in a>c, it is not necessary to display all item pairs in the subquestions. This fact makes it possible for the user to specify for a particular item pair that it is not displayed together in any subquestion. This setting is optional. If it is not set, the design is generated with randomly combined item pairs.

Analyzing results

When your respondents have assessed the attributes you will be able to see which attributes are considerd to be the most important and the least important in the decision making of your target audience.

Details on the evaluation of the MaxDiff question

The item that the respondent rates as “most important” in a subquestion is given the value 1. The item that the respondent rates as “least important” in a subquestion is given the value -1. The remaining items are given the value 0. After answering the MaxDiff question, the values are added up for each item and divided by the number of occurrences of the item (3, 4 or 5). The calculated item score in the interview is a mean value between -1 (not important) and 1 (important). If you calculate the mean value for each item across all respondents or across the respondents in a sub-group, you obtain the total score or the group score of the items.

In the raw data export, a column/variable is displayed for each MaxDiff item. The figures shown are the item scores of the individual interviews, which can be used to calculate total scores (simple averages), for example. The total scores are shown in the Basic Report. The corresponding chart sorts the items according to the total score with the most important item at the top. In the Segmented Excel Report, the group scores of the individual segments are displayed in addition to the total score.

The MaxDiff design used (see “Details on generating the subquestions”) enables simple evaluation using mean values. No further statistical knowledge is required and no special programs for e.g. Hierarchical Bayesian Estimation are necessary when analyzing the raw data. In this respect, the design actually used is not reflected in the raw data. This only becomes visible when a test interview is completed.

Additional settings

Items per subquestion

You can determine the number of items per subquestion:

  • 3 items per subquestion → minimum of 8 items required
  • 4 items per subquestion → minimum of 14 items required
  • 5 items per subquestion → minimum of 23 items required

Exclude pair of items

An optional feature for MaxDiff is that you can determine that a certain pair of items is never combined within any of the subquestions:

This particularly useful when you have two similar items where the respondent is very likely to always prefer one option over the other. If a respondent can choose between 128 GB of Memory or 256 GB of Memory it is very likely that 256 GB of Memory will be preferred.

This means that asking for the preference between the two will most likely not contribute to your survey. However comparing how important the minimum amount of memory is compared to other attributes is very valuable.

Updated on November 28, 2023

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Please login to your Survalyzer account and use the "Create Support Request" form.
Login to Survalyzer