1. Home
  2. Survey
  3. Build Survey
  4. Other
  5. Restoring a deleted survey

Restoring a deleted survey

It might occur that a survey was deleted by accident. It is possible to undo survey deletion and restore the survey by navigating to the Recycle Bin:

You can access the Recycle Bin by opening the top navigation profile sub-menu at the right top corner of your screen:

Additionally you can access the Recycle Bin from your survey archive:

How does survey restoration work?

When you restore a deleted survey the survey is restored to an identical survey status compared to the moment of deletion. The button to restore a deleted survey can be found at the right of the screen:



Note: deleted reports, distributions and interviews deleted within 5 minutes before survey deletion will also be restored when the survey is restored.

Example scenarios:

  1. A. Survey X is currently active and a basic report is created. 2 minutes later the user deletes Survey X.
    B. The survey is restored in an active status including the basic report.
  2. A. Survey X is currently active and a basic report is created. 2 minutes later the user deletes the basic report and 1 minute later he/she deletes Survey X.
    B. The survey is restored in an active status including the basic report.
  3. A. Survey X is currently active and a basic report is created. 2 minutes later the user deletes the basic report and 10 minutes later he/she deletes Survey X.
    B. The survey is restored in an active status excluding the basic report.

Which users can restore a deleted survey?

Restoring a deleted survey is available for all user & license types. There is a difference in authorisation levels:

  1. Account Admin
    Access to all deleted surveys accross the entire account.
  2. Workspace Group Admin
    Access to all deleted surveys within workspaces where (admin) access is currently enabled for this user.
  3. User
    Access to all deleted surveys in workspaces where access is currently enabled for this user.

How long after after survey deletion can it be restored?

This depends on the Data Retention Period configuration that is set within the Account Management and/or Workspace Settings.

When this is set to 30 days, this means that the survey can be restored until 30 days after deletion. When the Account Admin changes the Data Retention Period to 0 days after a survey has already been deleted, this will result in logical deletion overnight.

Updated on May 16, 2023

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Please login to your Survalyzer account and use the "Create Support Request" form.
Login to Survalyzer