1. Home
  2. Survey
  3. Build Survey
  4. Survey Status in Survalyzer

Survey Status in Survalyzer

In Survalyzer we have only two types of survey status: unpublished and published. To be able to change your survey, even after its published, Survalyzer has a method for this

The following diagram illustrates this:

Status overview

The following notes will explain how to change from one status to the other; the effect of these changes; and also which participants will see these effects.

1. Create New Survey: Status inactive

A newly created survey will be unpublished or not activated. You can open the survey, test it as much as you want and all changes will be seen immediately after a refresh of the survey.

Note: This status is for creating, designing and testing your survey, before you publish it.

To test the survey you can send out up to 20 invitations with personal links, or you can send out an anonymous URL. For testing purposes, we recommend also checking the analyse page. You can analyse up to 5 responses and see if the collected data is the data you need to achieve your goal.

Once testing is done and the final approval for your survey is given, you can activate your survey. This will change the survey status to activated.

2. Activate Survey: Status Active

Note: By activating a survey you delete all previously collected test data. Your survey will be clean and all previously generated personal links will be invalid.

Once the first version of your survey is published, it can no longer be changed. You can now collect and analyse an unlimited amount of responses and invite as many participants as needed.

If you want to change your survey, you’ll need to click on “Revise Survey”.

3. Revise Survey: Status Active (with unpublished changes)

When you click on “Revise”, your already published version stays active and your respondents can still open and answer your survey by using this initial version.

Note: Each respondent will finish the survey using the same version which they started.

In the meantime, you are able to change whatever you need to in your survey.

Attention: A change of datatype and/or value range of a question will result in data loss for that question. Restoring this lost data will incur a charge.

To publish your changes, just click on “publish survey”.

4. Publish Survey: Status Active (with published changes)

After publishing your changes, a new version of the survey will be generated. Each respondent who starts a new interview will see the new version.

Note: Each respondent will finish the survey using the same version which they started.

You can have an infinte number of survey versions published, but keep in mind that a high number of versions will result in loss in performance.

Once the survey has collected sufficient data, you can close it.

Close Survey: Status Closed

closed survey status caused by close survey
When you hover the arrow next to the “Revise Survey” button you’ll find the “Close Survey” option

As soon as you close your survey, data will no longer be collected. Each respondent will see the “closed” message, defined in the language settings of your survey.

To open your survey again you’ll need to click on “activate survey”. As soon as the survey is active again it can collect additional data. No data is lost by closing or reactivating a survey.

Move Survey to Survey Archive: Status Closed

closed survey status caused by archiving
In the survey list, the small box icon will move the survey into the archive

If you move a survey to the survey archive, your survey will be closed automatically and will no longer collect data. Each respondent will see the “closed” message, as defined in the language settings of your survey.

To open your survey again, you’ll need to move the survey from the archive to the normal / active survey list. As soon as the survey is active again it can collect additional data. No data is lost by moving your survey out of the archive.

Reaching the end date: Status Closed

closed survey status caused by end date
You’ll find this setting within the survey settings

If a survey reaches it’s defined end date, your survey will be closed automatically and will no longer collect any data. Each respondent will see the “closed” message, as defined in the language settings of your survey.

To open your survey again, you’ll need to extend or disable the end date. As soon as the survey is active again it can collect additional data. No data is lost by either extending or disabling the end date of a survey.

Updated on August 26, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles